Associated Press Published

Marshall Names Three Finalists for President

Marshall University

  Marshall University’s Presidential Search Committee has identified three finalists following a national search.

The university announced Wednesday that the three finalists are Mississippi State University Provost and Executive Vice President Jerome Gilbert, Oregon Institute of Technology President Christopher Maples and University of Southern Mississippi Professor and former Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Denis Wiesenburg.

Each finalist will visit Marshall University next week.

After the visits are complete and feedback from the campus community has been reviewed, the search committee will present its recommendations to the Board of Governors for the final selection.

Gary White will continue serving as interim president until a new president is named. White was appointed on Dec. 29, 2014, following the death of President Stephen Kopp. The 63-year-old Kopp died on Dec. 17, 2014.