Jessica Lilly Published

Q&A: Higher Education Teams Up to Tackle to Economic Development in Southern W.Va.


Administrators in higher education across southern West Virginia are joining forces to invest in economic development in the region. The initiative began at Marshal University and quickly spread to schools like Concord University in Mercer County.

It’s called the Alliance for the Economic Development of Southern West Virginia. President Kendra Boggess said the partnership is in line with Concord’s mission of serving the community. Boggess as well as Vice President of Human Resources, Policy, and Planning Dan Fitzpatrick recently spoke with reporter Jessica Lilly about the initiative.


There are 10 higher education institutions involved in the project including:

  • Marshall University
  • Concord University
  • W.Va. State University
  • WVU Tech
  • Bluefield State College
  • West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Southern W.Va. Community and Technical College
  • New River Community and Technical College
  • Mountwest Community and Technical College  
  • BridgeValley Community and Technical College

The Alliance focuses on a 21-county area including:

  • Boone
  • Clay
  • Fayette
  • Greenbrier
  • Kanawha
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Mason
  • McDowell
  • Mercer
  • Mingo
  • Monroe
  •  Nicholas
  • Pocahontas
  • Putnam
  • Raleigh
  • Summers
  • Wayne
  • Webster
  • Wyoming