NSF Grant to Help Three West Virginia Universities


State officials announced today a $20 million grant from the National Science Foundation to fund research at 3 WV universities. 

Governor Earl Ray Tomblin, U.S. Senators Joe Manchin and Shelley Moore Capito and Congressmen David McKinley, Alex Mooney and Evans Jenkins announced the award for West Virginia’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, referred to as EPSCOR. The money will be used to boost research and upgrade infrastructure at West Virginia University, Marshall University, West Virginia State University and other institutions. EPSCoR is overseen by the state Higher Education Policy Commission’s Division of Science and Research.

Jan Taylor is the Director of the Division. 

“This is a very important grant for our institutions because it allows them to hire faculty, which will build strong research groups that can explore very important things like gravitational waves,” Taylor said.

Since 2001 the state has received more than $60 million in grants for EPSCoR funding.