Associated Press Published

Eight Counties Stay Under Flood State of Emergency

Flood, Clendenin

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin is maintaining a state of emergency for eight West Virginia counties devastated by floods in June.

On Monday, Tomblin announced the extension until Sept. 21 for eight of the 12 counties that have been under a state of emergency. The declaration was scheduled to expire Monday, two months after floods killed 23 people and destroyed homes, businesses and infrastructure.

The state of emergency continues for Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Nicholas, Roane, Summers and Webster counties.

The emergency declaration expires Monday evening for Jackson, Lincoln, Monroe and Pocahontas counties.

Tomblin extended the state of emergency last month to ensure all available state resources are provided to rebuild homes, businesses and communities.

At one point, 44 of West Virginia’s 55 counties were under a state of emergency.