Associated Press Published

Four W.Va. Counties Declared Endemic for Lyme Disease


Four additional West Virginia counties have been declared endemic for Lyme disease, bringing the total to 11.

The Charleston Gazette-Mail reports that Kanawha, Marshall, Roane and Wetzel counties were declared endemic for the tick-borne disease as of Aug. 15. They join Berkeley, Hampshire, Hancock, Jefferson, Mineral, Morgan and Wood counties on the list.

Dr. Rahul Gupta, the state health commissioner, says a county is considered endemic for Lyme disease if it has at least two confirmed cases in patients who had not traveled recently and could only have been bitten by a tick within that county.

The state Bureau for Public Health says there have been 149 cases of Lyme disease in West Virginia this year — nearly double the 77 reported in the same time frame in 2014.