Curtis Tate Published

FEMA Major Disaster Declaration Aids 5 Flood-Affected Counties

A dump truck drives along a dusty road. Closer up there is a bridge with wooden debris all around it. The bridge is in disrepair.
A new disaster declaration will help residents affected by flooding last August.
Briana Heaney/West Virginia Public Broadcasting

President Joe Biden has issued a major disaster declaration for five West Virginia counties affected by flooding in late August.

Residents in Boone, Calhoun, Clay, Harrison and Kanawha counties can apply for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

They can receive grants for temporary housing and home repairs, as well as low-interest loans for uninsured property losses.

Homeowners and business owners can apply by registering with FEMA, by using the FEMA app or by calling 1-800-621-3362.