Dave Mistich Published

West Virginia House Delegation Votes Against Trump's Impeachment


West Virginia’s congressional delegation in the House of Representatives all voted against the impeachment of President Donald Trump. 

Republicans David McKinley, Alex Mooney and Carol Miller — who represent West Virginia’s first, second and third districts, respectively — each voted against both articles of impeachment against Trump. 

In a statement following the vote, McKinley defended the president and said the vote “sets a precedent that impeachment is no longer based on evidence, but instead who holds the majority in the House.”

In a series of Tweets, Mooney said Trump did nothing wrong and that the articles of impeachment were “meritless.”

Miller spoke on the floor ahead of the vote, stating there was “zero cause” for the charges against the president. She argued that Congress has been preoccupied with impeachment — rather the work of the American people.  

The articles accuse Trump of abuse of power and obstruction of Congress — stemming from his handling of Ukraine. They were approved on mostly party line votes. 

Trump now will stand trial in the Senate, where U.S. Senators Joe Manchin, a Democrat, and Shelley Moore Capito, will act as jurors along with the rest of the members.

A two thirds majority — or 67 votes — is needed to remove the president from office.