West Virginia Public Broadcasting Published

Watch The 2020 W.Va. Supreme Court Candidates Forum


Watch a moderated forum featuring candidates vying for a seat on the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals in West Virginia’s 2020 Primary Election.


The Future of the West Virginia Supreme Court: An Evening with the Candidates will air on WVPB television twice — at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 4, on the main WVPB channel and at 11 a.m. Friday, June 5, on The West Virginia Channel. The program also will be available Thursday at 6 p.m. on WVPB’s YouTube and Facebook channels and at wvpublic.org

The forum is sponsored by the Bonnie and Bill Stubblefield Institute for Civil Political Communications at Shepherd University.

The Supreme Court of Appeals is West Virginia’s highest court and the court of last resort. It includes five seats, three of which are open for this nonpartisan election, which serves as the General Election for this race. One justice will be selected for each division and will serve a 12-year term, except in Division 3, where appointee John Hutchison is finishing former Justice Allen Loughry’s term. If elected, Hutchison will serve until 2024.

Nine out of 10 candidates joined the forum remotely from across West Virginia in keeping with pandemic safety guidelines:

Division 1: Tim Armstead, David Hummel, Jr. and Richard Neely
Division 2: Jim Douglas, Kristina “Kris” Raynes, Joanna Tabit and William “Bill” Wooton
Division 3: John Hutchison and Bill Schwartz (Lora Dyer did not participate.)

The forum is divided into three segments to sharpen voter focus on the candidates competing in each division. It features two moderators, Dave Mistich, senior reporter for WVPB, and David Welch, director of the Stubblefield Institute. 

Voting options in West Virginia’s primary include in-person voting on Election Day, a 10-day early voting period, electronic absentee voting for certain eligible voters, and the expanded use of the excused absentee ballot process due to coronavirus concerns.

More info on this race and the June 9 elections can be found at the West Virginia Secretary of State’s website.