Chris Schulz Published

Teacher Of The Year Finalists Announced

School desk and chairs in empty modern classroom. Empty class room with white board and projector in elementary school. Primary classroom with smart board and alphabet on wall.Rido/Adobe Stock

Earlier this week, the West Virginia Department of Education announced five finalists for the 2024 Teacher of the Year. 

The list includes elementary school teachers Sharon Cole from Ceredo-Kenova Elementary School in Wayne County, Kimberly Hunt from Roosevelt Elementary School in Mason County and Jaime Young from Woodsdale Elementary School in Ohio County, as well as high school English teacher Jennifer Kirk from Oak Hill High School in Fayette County and math teacher Michael Harshbarger from Cabell County Career Technology Center in Cabell County.

Each teacher was selected from among county Teacher of the Year winners.

The Teacher of the Year program recognizes teachers of excellence, connects them with a network of other equally inspirational and innovative educators and helps communicate the excellence of teaching to the public.

West Virginia’s 2024 Teacher of the Year, as well as School Service Personnel of the Year will be announced Sept. 12 during a ceremony at the Clay Center in Charleston.