Associated Press Published

Nonprofit Disaster Loans Offered in Another Three W.Va. Counties


  Private nonprofits in three West Virginia are now eligible to apply for federal disaster loans for damages caused by a March storm.

The U.S. Small Business Administration has added Fayette, Mercer and Tucker counties to the list of more than 20 counties where disaster loans are available for private nonprofits.

The low-interest loans are being offered to private nonprofits that provide non-critical services, such as food kitchens, homeless shelters, libraries and schools.

The SBA said Monday that June 1 is the deadline to apply for loans for physical property damage. Loan applications for economic injury must be submitted by Dec. 31.