Dave Mistich Published

National Weather Service Issues Tornado Warning for Charleston Area, Other Advisories


The National Weather Service in Charleston has issued hazardous weather advisories, including a tornado warning, for parts of the Southwest region of West Virginia.

A tornado warning is in effect until 2:15 p.m. Tuesday for:

  • Putnam County
  • Southwestern Mason County
  • Northeastern Lincoln County
  • Northeastern Cabell County 
  • Northwestern Kanawha County

A severe thunderstorm warning has also been issued until 2:45 p.m. Tuesday for Central Pocahontas County and Southwestern Randolph County.

The National Weather Service advises residents of these areas to use caution and to more to a interior room on the lowest floor of a building. 

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect for a major portion of the state until 10:00 p.m., encompassing virtually all parts of the state south of U.S. Route 50 and stretching towards the Eastern Panhandle.

Counties included in the watch are: 

  • Barbour
  • Boone 
  • Braxton
  • Cabell
  • Calhouln
  • Clay
  • Fayette
  • Gilmer
  • Greenbrier
  • Jackson
  • Kanawha
  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Mason
  • McDowell
  • Mercer
  • Mingo
  • Monroe
  • Nicholas
  • Pocahontas
  • Putnam
  • Raleigh
  • Randolph
  • Roane
  • Summers
  • Tucker
  • Upshur
  • Wayne
  • Webster
  • Wirt
  • Wyoming