Ashton Marra Published

Charleston Among 16 Cities Competing to Host Presidential Debate

Clay Center

The Commission on Presidential Debates released Wednesday the list of cities who have applied to host one of four debates in 2016. 

In all, 16 cities have applied to the federal commission to host either one of three presidential or the vice- presidential debate in the fall of 2016.

West Virginia University and West Virginia State University have teamed up with the City of Charleston, Governor’s Office and law firm Steptoe and Johnson on a proposal to host an event at the Clay Center in the capital city.

Applicants include:

  • Belmont University, Nashville, TN  

  • City of Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

  • City of McAllen, McAllen, TX

  • Dominican University of California, San Rafael, CA

  • Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, KY

  • Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, GA

  • Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY   

  • Houston Community College, Houston, TX

  • Jacksonville University, Jacksonville, FL

  • Longwood University, Farmville, VA

  • State University of New York Rockland Community College (SUNY RCC) in partnership with Rockland Debates 2016, Suffern, NY

  • Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, Las Vegas, NV
  • Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

  • West Virginia University and West Virginia State University, Charleston, WV
  • Wright State University, Dayton, OH

The Commission on Presidential Debates considers things like the size of the debate hall, number of hotels rooms in the area and nearness to air transportation when choosing the host cities.

A final announcement is expected to come in the fall.