Associated Press Published

W.Va. Broadcasters Hall of Fame to Induct Ten Members

WV Broadcasting Hall of Fame

Former ESPN executive Dan Shoemaker is among 10 people named to the West Virginia Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

The other inductees are Jack Canfield, Dick Callaway, Jack Deakin, the late Lloyd Scott Garten, Randy Kerbawy, Michael Kidd, the late Paul Krakowski, Fritz Leichner and Lacy Neff.

Shoemaker became ESPN vice president of college development in 1994 and retired from full-time duties with the network in the past year. He began his broadcasting career as a color analyst for Marshall University football and basketball games on local TV stations while working as a teacher and coach at Huntington East High School.

An induction ceremony will be held Nov. 15 at the Museum of Radio and Technology in Huntington.