Liz McCormick Published

State of Emergency Issued for Flooding in Parts of North Central W.Va.

Ten West Virginia counties are under a State of Emergency due to flooding caused by heavy rainfall.

Governor Jim Justice made the declaration in an emailed statement to reporters Monday afternoon.

Justice made the declaration for Barbour, Braxton, Gilmer, Lewis, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Randolph, Tucker, Upshur and Webster Counties.

State and county emergency officials are evacuating some of the locations affected by high waters. The State Emergency Operations Center is coordinating with officials in the affected areas to determine their needs.

The West Virginia Army National Guard has been put on stand-by to assist.