Ashton Marra Published

Open Season in 51 Counties Begins Nov. 25th

It’s that time of year again!

For two weeks, beginning Monday, Nov. 25 and ending Saturday, Dec. 2, it’s open season in 51 counties across the state as hunters hit the woods looking for that prize buck.

About 330,000 hunters will participate in West Virginia’s buck firearm season and will spend an estimated $230 million here, particularly in rural areas, but before you hit the woods, the state Division of Natural Resources has some rules and regulations they want you to be aware of:

-Hunters are limited to two bucks during the two week firearm season and may only take three during an entire calendar year, including both firearm and archery seasons.

-November 24 is the last day to purchase an additional buck deer gun tag

-A hunter may harvest two deer per day, but only one antlered deer per day

-A concurrent bear gun season will be held in 29 counties

-Sunday hunting is legal on Dec. 1 in the following 14 counties: Boone, Brooke, Clay, Hancock, Jefferson, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Marshall, Mingo, Ohio, Wayne, Wetzel and Wyoming.

-Hunters are required to wear at least 400 square inches of blaze orange on an outer garment for visibility and safety and the color must be visible from both the front and back

Make sure you read up on the DNR’s hunting and trapping regulations and locate your official game checking stations before you head to your favorite hunting spot.

Don’t forget your state hunting license and remember, only 51 counties participate in the open buck firearm season. Deer gun seasons are closed in Logan, Mingo, McDowell and Wyoming Counties.

Consider donating your harvested deer to help feed West Virginians in need. Contact the Hunters Helping the Hungry to find a meat processor in your area.