Educational Broadcasting Authority

The Educational Broadcasting Authority was established by the West Virginia Legislature in 1963 as a public benefit corporation on behalf of noncommercial educational radio, television and related media as it may consider to be in the best interest of the state.

The Authority holds the licenses for all the West Virginia Public Radio and West Virginia PBS stations in the state. The statute is under West Virginia Code 10-5.

Scott Finn is the Executive Director of the WV Educational Broadcasting Authority.

Current members of the Authority, as appointed, are:

The Honorable Earl Ray Tomblin, Governor, State of West Virginia
Kay Goodwin, Secretary, Education & the Arts; Governor's Designee
William H. File III, Beckley; Chair
Mark Polen, Charleston; Vice Chair
Dr. Bruce Berry, WV Higher Education Policy Commission
Ann C. Brotherton, Charleston
Dr. Corley Dennison, Huntington

Michael Martirano, WV Superintendent of Schools
Ellen Spears, Elkins
Karen Shuler Stakem, Wheeling 
Dr. William M. White, WV Board of Education

WV Educational Broadcasting Authority meeting schedule:

     Special Meeting - Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. at 600 Capitol Street Charleston WV

  • Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014 at 10 a.m. at 600 Capitol Street Charleston, WV


                                                                                   SPECIAL MEETING

                                                    WV EDUCATIONAL BROADCASTING AUTHORITY

10:00 a.m. October 30, 2014

600 Capitol Street

Charleston WV 25301




1.  Call to Order


2.  Update regarding personnel policies                    


3.   Response to pre-suite notice on personnel matter           


  1. Adjournment